Kramer

Pull Altitudes For Wingsuits

I am new to the sport, so I don't know too much about wingsuit flying yet.

My question is: Do you guys pull a lot lower than a regular skydiver due to the fact that you've got a lot more time before you hit the ground?

What is the routine pull altitude for a rather experienced birdman?

-Kramer

The FAKE KRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMER!!!!!!!!!

I too pull around 4,000 feet.. now that i'm experienced. Before that I was pulling at 5K.

I've taken it down to 3,000 before with no issues, however if you have an issue (such as line twists) that may be too low to have enough time to deal with it.

As SM1 stated. One doesn't need to take it any lower the 5 K until you have a couple hundred BM flights under your wings. To do so is to tempt fate and reduce your chances of recovery if something does go terribly wrong.
"It's just skydiving..additional drama is not required"
Some people dream about flying, I live my dream
SKYMONKEY PUBLISHING

Do you guys pull a lot lower than a regular skydiver due to the fact that you've got a lot more time before you hit the ground?

Dwain did, as he had this same time to impact theory. However, he was pretty much the only person I knew who did that and when he had a spinning malfunction once, I think even he started to question that theory.

For the most part, we dump high.
"¯"`-._.-¯) ManBird (¯-._.-´"¯"

Click

that's ok for you guy's across the pond who get a zillion feet as standard... from 12,000 we brit's have to eeeek! out the extra altitude to get the same sweet flight times;)

did some niiiice 1 on 1 today and had a blast.

Fordy
Fordy

Did you mean 4000 feet or 5000 on pull?

I personally pull at 4800-4500 on all my flights. When I was doing the first few jumps on each new suit I'd pull at 5200 just to make sure I'd be good to pull.
Yesterday is history
And tomorrow is a mystery

Parachutemanuals.com