JohnRich

Snake Identification?

I saw six snakes this morning during my three-hour walk in the woods. Three different types. I'm wondering if anyone knows what kind of snakes these are. The location is Houston, Texas, lowland woods, with a creek nearby.

1) Two for one special. Moccasins? Or harmless water snakes? I've seen a LOT of these.

2) All black, with no skin pattern. Harmless?

3) 2.5 feet long, large diameter girth, aggressive & scary. Built like a rattlesnake, but no rattle on the end of the tail. Maybe he was only aggressive because I pulled him out of that hole in the ground (with my walking stick).

I'm starting to get scared about hiking in this patch of woods with its high density of possibly poisonous snakes. And it seems like I come awfully close to stepping on a lot of these just before I spot them. Ack!

Im far from a snake expert, but the wetlands of Florida have a lot of similar species that the lowlands of TX have. I would venture to guess that the 1st & 3rd are definitly in the moccasin family. Dunno about the 2nd. When in doubt, I assume they are all poisonous...;)

I saw six snakes this morning during my three-hour walk in the woods. Three different types. I'm wondering if anyone knows what kind of snakes these are. The location is Houston, Texas, lowland woods, with a creek nearby.

1) Two for one special. Moccasins? Or harmless water snakes? I've seen a LOT of these.

2) All black, with no skin pattern. Harmless?

3) 2.5 feet long, large diameter girth, aggressive & scary. Built like a rattlesnake, but no rattle on the end of the tail. Maybe he was only aggressive because I pulled him out of that hole in the ground (with my walking stick).

I'm starting to get scared about hiking in this patch of woods with its high density of possibly poisonous snakes. And it seems like I come awfully close to stepping on a lot of these just before I spot them. Ack!