Nataly

Gimme a tip, dammit!

I just committed a big social no-no... I ate at a restaurant and didn't leave a tip.

I got up to pay the bill; I paid by card. I selected "no" when the thingy prompted me for a tip. The waitress held onto my card and asked me - did you leave a tip on the table? And I said no. She said "would you like me to ring it through on your card" and I said "I didn't think tips were mandatory." Still holding on to my card, she told me "it's our salary"...

When I went to grab my card back, she had the nerve to lecture me on how rude I was being!! And that's when I lost it. I turned to her and said: "I work as an accountant, and I don't get paid extra when I just *do* my job. Extras are for when you do an *excellent* job."

I know this kinda makes me a twat, but having just paid $12 for a disgusting poutine, sat in the corner, under a dripping air-conditioning unit, and waited ages first to be served, then to get my food, then to receive the bill... Let's just say she was lucky I didn't insist on a refund. Tipping, my ass! Humpf!

**rant over**
"There is no problem so bad you can't make it worse."
- Chris Hadfield
« Sors le martinet et flagelle toi indigne contrôleuse de gestion. »
- my boss

I agree with you. Tips are to reward good service, and are by no means required ever.

I have a problem with the way things have gone in this country, where employers are permitted to pay servers a lower wage than minimum simply because they are supposed to be making it up in tips.

I think that's criminal.

I would add that if service was great but the food stunk I would think about complaining but still rewarding the server.
----------------------------------------------
You're not as good as you think you are. Seriously.

I agree with you. Tips are to reward good service, and are by no means required ever.