lintern

Struggling student stuck on 3s delays

I've been jumping for 18 months now and I am struggling to progress onto freefall. This is highlighted by the fact that I've done 60 jumps now and the furthest I've got is 3 sec delays, although I've been put back onto the static line for the second time because on my last 3 sec delay my foot got entangled in the canopy lines.

I did around 30-40 DRP's before being cleared for freefall.

My first problem with DRP's was fumbling for the handle but I seem to have got that sorted now.

Then my arms were sometimes too high and I de-arched on the pull. As well as this I sometimes failed to put my left arm above my head to stay stable on the pull.

Because of this, every 3 sec jump I have done has always resulted in me rolling on my back when I go for the pull.

Some of my jumps have been even worse because not only do I de-arch, I leave my legs in the same position as they are when I am in the door, so when I go out my legs are all over the place and I end up with my head towards the earth and my feet towards the sky.

This has happened 3 times and the last time it happened is when I became entangled. As the pilot chute deployed the lines wrapped around my left foot. I managed to untangle myself but I must have flipped the wrong way through the risers because they were twisted, so I kept my manoeuvres to a minimum as I was unsure how big a problem this was.

I know how I am suppose to exit and understand the theory behind it, but as soon as I get in the door I start to feel overwhelmed and just want to get out and get a safe canopy above my head, I find this the most intense part of the jump.

For those few intense seconds as I leave the aircraft my mind goes blank which I've been told is due to sensory overload, but I always get the handle.

I've practiced time and time again on the ground using the mock up which is simple enough, but it's nothing at all like the real thing so it doesn't seem to be helping.