MikeTJumps

WOW! Responses to BOD notes posting

I am truly impressed with the number of contributions I've been reading in response to my posting of my notes from the BOD meeting.

What I'm wondering is where was all this thought out input prior to the BOD meeting. Time and time again, I've heard that "The USPA does nothing but hand out rules and dictates policy." Well folks, if you have an opinion on something, you should communicate it with your S&TA, your BOD Regional Director, and your National BOD members. In that way, you'll make your presence far more well known than posting here in a newsgroup that is rarely read by BOD members.

I've been in this sport for 28+ years and I've been an instructor for more than 26 of them. When the old "3-3" program was about to be thrust upon us, the groundswell of opposition made itself well known and the then S&T committee became very aware of the opposition to the propositions.

Get into an active mode and let your BOD members know your opinions personally! Don't just wait for something to happen and then react to it. Call or write them and ask them to keep you informed about what is "coming down the pipe" so to speak. Converse with them. Get their opinions and give them yours. That's what I do and I have been going to the BOD meetings for the last seven years as a non-BOD member.

As the I/E rating is now not being issued, one must look towards the future as to what a course director will be and what hoops we need to jump through to retain our course director privileges. The "AIC" program appears to be the way that is going to be implemented.

All Dropzones must exercise good judgment as to who can jump with whom. The USPA S&T committee set up "minimum" guidelines, not absolute ones.

Again, get involved. Elect someone who represents your thoughts and aspirations. Too many one candidate slates and less than 10% vote turnout gives the impression that the population either doesn't care or can't be bothered to be involved.