winsor

Low Jump Numbers at the WFFC

One of the biggest hurtles in skydiving is getting the first 50 or so jumps. Training is expensive and proceeds at the convenience of the instructor (and the weather), and getting enough air time that anyone else wants to jump with you is just as bad. No number of air-baths is going to get up jumpers to want you on their load, and paying for quality jumps absorbs great quantities of time and money.

IMHO the single best place to go from your first tandem to being in on formation skydives is the World Freefall Convention. We are geared toward developing the greatest level of skill - from the standpoint of safety and practice - in the least amount of time, for the least amount of money. People who show up on Day One and can't even funnel a formation properly by Day Ten are organizing their own skydives together, executing them safely and having a great time.

For complete beginners, the AFF concession is geared to getting you in the air and through the training process in manner that justifies the "accelerated" in its name.

Jumpers cleared for solo jumping have the option of jumping with any Coach or with the Free Convention Load Organizers. The rule for the Free Convention Load Organizers is that our slots are covered when jumping on a 4-way or better, so a coached jump or 3-way drill dive does cost the price of an extra slot - otherwise we are volunteers.

A-license-qualified jumpers have the further option of jumping with a Mentor. A Mentor is an up-jumper who agrees work with a low-timer, passing on skills and working with them to stay safe. We invite up-jumpers to register as Mentors.

After 50 jumps or when cleared by one of the staff (we work with you, and are happy to sign off someone who is heads-up about safety procedures), jumpers are free to jump without a Coach, Mentor or Load Organizer. They are, of course, welcome to jump on organized loads.