1 1
pccoder

12 Deaths in one Month?

What is going on this past August? That seems like an aweful large number. I am still a newbie, but have we had such large numbers the past few years in one month?

Is it time to stop and do a mandatory national safety day at all USPA dropzones?

PcCoder.net

Is it time to stop and do a mandatory national safety day at all USPA dropzones?

Will, this stop people from doing low hook turns without the proper skills?
Will this stop people from doing dumb stuff like landing a Mr. Bill?
Will this stop people from jumping intoxicated?
"We've been looking for the enemy for some time now. We've finally found him. We're surrounded. That simplifies things." CP

A very bad August came after what looks like a pretty good year from historical perspective. There does appear to be a summer concentration which wouldn't be too surprising.

In hazardous sports, it's my belief that you get these sorts of spikes because people respond to reading incident reports and change their behavior...for a while. And then start becoming a bit more casual about it. It's not a huge difference, but enough of a shift that you suddenly see a burst again.

What is going on this past August***
Pure speculation, as I do not have the data from previous years. But August may be the peak of skydiving season (except for the Southwest), all dropzones cranking... But what do I know.

"For once you have tasted Absinthe you will walk the earth with your eyes turned towards the gutter, for there you have been and there you will long to return."