jtval

anyone ever get converted in SC?

So this may be my 12th post in SC.
As an newb I have a question.

Does anyone ever learn something from these discussions to the point that they can:

1- Agree with the other side (I.E. left/right)
2- start thinking the other way?

Did anyone ever come here as a dem and leave as a republican etc?

I suspect all these threads are the same arguement with the same people but they just use different scenarios to argue.
My photos

My Videos

Does anyone ever learn something from these discussions to the point that they can:

1- Agree with the other side

I've appreciated more fully others' arguments.
I've appreciated more fully a wider perspective.
I've observed the thought processes that underly some opinions ... & sometimes I'm still trying to figure it out ... correlation/causality/theory/hypothesis ... not the same things ... :D
I've learned about underlying arguments that make me respect more the stance of the proponents or adherants.
I've had some great conversations in PMs and emails that have changed my perspectives and opinions.

So yes, in multiple situations to varying degrees, I've done (1) & (2).

And I still (as I posted before) think the most effective anti-gun regulation argument was in a video posted by [Rookie120] a while back.

VR/Marg

Act as if everything you do matters, while laughing at yourself for thinking anything you do matters.
Tibetan Buddhist saying

In the DB Cooper thread in S H&T, there is a regular poster who is quite determined about her point of view. Anything that contradicts this point of view is taken as an attack. Some posts have suggested the poster is delusional. This is one of the responses to one of the definitions of "delusional"

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In Reply To
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------