alanab

how do you find reliable workers (plumbing)?

so... i just bought a house! yay!!

i've got some issues from the home inspection that need fixed. a big part of the problems are with the plumbing. i had 4 estimates for the plumbing workk and i scheduled the most knowledageble guy to do the work starting this morning. this was after him not answering my calls and me having to threaten him by saying i'd use someone else if he didnt return my calls!

so the ass hat doesnt show up today or call me back after 4 calls and being late. last call i left him a vm saying if i didnt hear back in an hour id use someone else. well he called right away and gave me some bs about having truck problems and he'd call me back in an hour. that was 4 hours ago and hasnt picked up my last call either..... *go figure, he JUST called me as i was typing this!*.... he says his car wont be done today and that he'll come tomorrow at 8am.

do i trust that after all the bs ive dealt with him? i'm new to this whole scene, but i was looking for some advice in finding trustworthy workers that are reliable. i know its subject to different cities. but i dont know too many homeowners in denver to ask for referrals.

this is problably typical behavior for some people, but i'm NOT used to it at all. geez, it almost makes me wish i had gone into contracting and could do all that stuff myself!

your best bet to get good house maint work is probably to talk to some of your neighbors or friends to see who they would get to do the work...

I know that probably doesn't help much and this guy may actually be having car problems but personally I would stick to your guns and go with someone else... [:/]

Livin' on the Edge... sleeping with my rigger's wife...