andy2

a few inexperienced questions

I am excited to start crew, I am a complete beginner at skydiving though, not even through AFF. I take it you need at least 50 or so jumps, to start CREW? I am content with this, as I know it will still be fun by jump 50, perfecting my canopy skills, and just freefalling. I plan to pull high-ish on my beginning jumps to perfect my canopy control skills.

What else should I be doing in this interim between student status and when I actually start doing CReW jumps, besides pulling high and becoming familiar with canopy control to be as ready as possible when I fly with the dogs? I can't think of anything else that would benefit me besides pulling real high and messing around alone.

Also, one more question, I know for BASE its a good idea to get your BASE canopy and use it in a skydiving setting to get used to it. I think though with CReW don't you need to have the same canopy as your CReW buddies? So, there's no way, barring meeting the people I will be doing CReW with when I gain experience, to know what canopy I should buy now and be able to play around with it and get used to it. I ask this because I am on an extreme budget, and would like to buy my CReW canopy now, as my first skydiving canopy, and get REALLY used to it so its second nature by the time I start CReW.

I am 5'7" 125 pounds (lightweight, I know!) if that's any help for the canopy thing. I really would like to just get the canopy that I'll be using for CReW, cause I doubt I'll have enough $ to buy 2 main canopies.

Thanks for your help, this forum has helped me a lot so far.

---------------------------------------------
let my inspiration flow,
in token rhyme suggesting rhythm...