AndyMan

Skydiving safer then driving?

I feel safer skydiving than I do driving on a busy interstate. But thats just me, I hate driving in traffic. I dont know how any statistics hold up to this, nor do I really care.

---------------------------------------------
let my inspiration flow,
in token rhyme suggesting rhythm...

I do think that I am more likely to die in a traffic accident than I am skydiving only because I drive on the highways everyday and you never know if myself or some other bloke is really paying attention. But I've seen enough close calls in my first year in this sport to know that it's not the safest thing around. So I voted "NO" that skydiving is safer than driving.

But I do believe that certain dangers in skydiving are choices. If I was strictly a belly flier who jumped in very small formations and/or if I was a docile canopy pilot jumping a monster canopy in low to moderate winds, then my exposure to danger would be much less than what it is freeflying and learning how to make high performance landings. So our dangers can be managed to a certain level in this sport. I unfortunately take much pleasure in the more dangerous aspects of this sport in learning how to freefly and learning high performaqnce landings (which both have yielded close + wake up calls to myself).

Try not to worry about the things you have no control over

I feel safer skydiving than I do driving on a busy interstate. But thats just me, I hate driving in traffic. I dont know how any statistics hold up to this, nor do I really care.

I feel the same way especially in vegas on the weekends..but i dont know if that feeling counts as the stats hes lookin for;)

I feel that way b/c during a skydive you kinda have a feeling of what everyone is doing. there are fewer people around you and basically your safety is up to you. (I know there is no such thing a a 100% statement thats why I emphasized basically)