Merrick

Airbrush experience...

Well, I just finished airbrushing my Z1, and it actually looks pretty good I must say.... BUT, I've never used airbrush paint before, and it scratches really easy, I wanted to put a clear coat on it (& buff it out like you would on a car), but couldn't find any at Hobby Lobby. Does anybody have any experience airbrushing, is there anything else I could spray on it to seal the paint & protect it?
My first mistake was not sanding down the entire helmet & completely redoing the basecoat as well (the black), but that doesn't have anything to do with the scratching. Hmmm.... Help!! lol
<----- Picture!
"Pammi's Hemp/Skydiving Jewelry"

Well you could just sit it on the shelf.It wont get scratched there! or you could jump it during the interim and fix it when it gets al crappy looking. I know a guy who does cool paint jobs...oh wait a second. thats you! whatre worried about If i could paint like that Id change it every month.
getting high is fun, but coming down is the best part
JT

Merrick,
I use an airbrush in some of my taxidermy projects, turkey heads, deer eyes and noses, etc. Some type of clear coat is needed whether glossy or matte to protect the paint. I use a matte finish from a spray can for this. I did repaint an old protec helmet once with spray cans. It looked nice for a short time until it started getting scratched and even cracked in a few places. I know there are some methods of making this work, but my results looked pretty shabby after a month or two of use. If you find a method that works let me know. I like tinkering on stuff like this, but I'm afraid to paint my Z-1. I don't want to mess it up. Steve

ROFL - Hey thanks guys, I didn't think it looked that good! lol
I may end up having to redo it, but if I do, I'll just repaint the whole thing & do it right this time, and ORDER the clear coat before I start... Who knows. Thanks for the advice guys, hopefully I can find something for it so I don't have to redo it!