JENNR8R

Partial Canopy Collapse

When I was 180 feet from the ground the left side of my canopy collapsed. Woo doggies, now that'll make your 'A' hole draw up. :o Fortunately, it reinflated, and I was able to land safely.

I never realized that a canopy could do that. I asked several people what the best way to handle that situation would be. The consensus was that going to half brakes would be the best way to reinflate the canopy. This surprised me because I was taught to fly in full flight through turbulence when I was a student.

Thoughts?
What do you call a beautiful, sunny day that comes after two cloudy, rainy
ones? -- Monday.

This can happen to any canopy, and don't let anyone tell you different. The prevailing wisdom to minimize the chance of this happening is to let it fly. That is contrary to the wisdom of many years ago, but canopies and canopy designers and pilots are much advanced since then.

I have seen such "fold-unders" many times, and they virtually always self-correct very quickly. They do get your attention though. Main point is to keep your canopy flying straight when it happens.

Turbulence is one reason I choose to sit on the ground some times, even when the wind is otherwise OK. The turbulence that can cause this has several causes, including, but not limited to, wake from other canopies, thermals, and generation by ground obstacles.

-- Jeff
My Skydiving History

>This surprised me because I was taught to fly in full flight through
>turbulence when I was a student.

This is why these "new and improved" theories worry me . . .

It is always better to go to half brakes when your canopy is collapsing. That's how the canopy was designed to reinflate. It will also surge less as it's reinflating in half brakes. Many people think "that half brake stuff is old news! Modern canopies fly completely differently." They really don't.