airtwardo

Kids & DZ..Question for parents

Got a personal question for ya...The wife and I disagree.

Do / would you take your kid / kids to the dz alone?

Not a comment about 'unsupervised' ankle biters, mine have been around avation all their lives and know the rules...

My concern is if they're at the DZ with only me, and I should get..."hurt" :o

What about them? :|

My honey seems to think it's no big deal, and since I've been jumping for 27 years..."WHAT COULD HAPPEN?" :S

Your thoughts?

~ If you choke a Smurf, what color does it turn? ~

First, I have no kids.

Given that they are aware of dangers, etc. at a DZ and behave responsibly, I don't see why they shouldn't be there. Exposure to skydiving (or other sports) at a young age can only help them grow. As for you getting injured, if your DZ is a friendly place most people will probably know your kids and would help out in such a situation. I certainly wouldn't leave them away from the action solely due to a fear of you getting hurt.

Just my USD$0.02.

Cheers...

Bob

Yes, I know it is snowing.
No, we are not putting the top up.

I think its great to have kids around the DZ... I just think DZs should build appropriate play rooms for them.

I'm thinking of a 10 x 10 shack, 1 door with a very good lock, no windows, plenty sound insonorisation, if you have some funds left maybe a bunch of these balls kids seem to like. Oh, I almost forgot, a couple of air vents... we dont want to be cruel to the little angels....>:(
Remster

I agree on most of that...

( 'Hurt' isn't what I'm really worried about) [:/]

They are all between 11-12 years old...

I would just feel more comfortable if Mom came down too...

I could just be being over protective I guess.

I've taken my son out to the DZ, but not by myself. Although he is old enough, I wouldn't want him to be by himself if something went wrong. My sister only lives 5 minutes from the DZ, so he can stay there while I'm jumping.