livendive

College education...worth the effort/expense?

Obviously I know my own answer to this question, but I'd like to get some other people's input. Hopefully I've got all the bases covered. Note, this is for people who are not working on a degree, but I put up an option for you students anyhow. :D

Blues,
Dave
"I AM A PROFESSIONAL EXTREME ATHLETE!"
(drink Mountain Dew)

A college degree is well worth the time, money and effort. I spent many years trying to support myself and my two kids working dead end, low wage jobs. Not only am I now able to earn substantially more now, I can work at a job I really like. After working in a variety of jobs that includes account clerk, movie theater manager, grocery checker, deli worker and assorted others, I can do what I love and get paid for it. I don't know which I like better, doing math or teaching math. (I've got to admit that skydiving has taken the top spot in my life lately, but the college education is paying off even there. Because of my job, I was able to afford that first tandem jump that got me hooked on this crazy life.)
"safety first... and What the hell.....
safety second, Too!!! " ~~jmy

POPS #10490

I hope it's worth something...working on one now. If nothing else, it's to get in the door and demonstrate the practical experience. I keep saying that I'm going "just to be able to check the box". That said, I'm sure there's valuable information to be had.

i've spent my entire adult life working without a degree. now i'm 33 and working on a degree. it may or may not help me, but at least it will give me more options.