BETO74

Anyone enjoy deer hunting over the thanksgiving break?

This is my first deer hunting season, I did not get any nor I saw the elusive big buck I have to say is a pretty cool sport, post your big buck picture if you like and I like to know also which rifle you think is best to go deer hunting?
http://web.mac.com/ac057a/iWeb/AC057A/H0M3.html

I work as a range officer at the local shooting range. After 8 years of "silly season" the only way I'm going out in the woods is in something with armor plate:P

Most of the guys (and ladies) are fine, but there are one or two each year that make me wonder how in the world they haven't shot themselves or their hunting parter yet.

Best rifle really depends on where you hunt. How long of a shot, how big the deer are, what sort of terrain you are moving through, stalking or sitting, all that.

And by the way, this thread is off to SC as soon as a mod sees it. It has the "G" word in it.:)

"There are NO situations which do not call for a French Maid outfit." Lucky McSwervy

"~ya don't GET old by being weak & stupid!" - Airtwardo

A semi auto or pump gun in .260 remington, liht recoil, extremely accurate, long rage, hits hard.

Try the model 7600 from remington, or an AR10 type in .260rem

A .243 win is nice but the bullets are a little light.

For whitetail deer you want a 120-150grain bullet.

The .260rem will take any animal in North America give the proper choice of bullets.

I need to repeat LOW RECOIL

If you have an AR15 already try getting an upper in 6.5Grendel, that will do nicely.

If you need information on that or assistance in getting one let me know

GA deer are still too skinny, the meat is not that great yet. The herds that were moved here from MI and MN are finally producing decent enough offspring. I think the next generation will be very yummy :)

Be patient with the faults of others; they have to be patient with yours.