Unstable

"First Free Fall Rig" ~ FXC on Main and Cypres/Vigil on Reserve

****I debated whether or not to post this in the gear forum, but my focus here is on practicality of training methods, not necessarily the gear in and of itself. Mods, if you feel you would rather move this, go ahead...Putting it here was debatable in the first place...

Here in the Midwest, the Bread and butter of Small to Mid DZ's is SL and IAD. It is no secret. A Cessna can turn more $$ per hour and cater to a larger clientele wtih 1 instructor and 3 students versus two instructors and 1 student. I've been a Sl instructor since 2004, and I've taken students up at about 4 DZs.

One thing that always surprises me about SL is the First Free Fall ~ done after 3 consecutive PRCPs or PPCT's. Anyone that has instructed for a few years knows that, well, sometimes students surprise the hell out of you, especially the Top 98% or the bottom 2%.

Have any DZ's ever considered putting SL/IAD students out on their First Freefalls and maybe their first 10-second delays with a rig equiped with a modern AAD on the reserve and an FXC on the main? Yes, FXC is not a modern 'set and forget' format, but for this application, it would do a fine job. I know the Air Force does this with ALL their first jump students.

Advice or concerns?

*edited for spelling.
=========Shaun ==========

I have seen alot of student rigs here in australia that use the FXC on the main for freefall students. Its mostly used on AFF jumps tho, not man static line jumps done here.

this would only work for DZ using rigs equipped with spring loaded pilot chute on the main. So it probably wouldn't be ideal for DZ doing IAD.
Have you seen my pants?
it"s a rough life, Livin' the dream
>:)

this would only work for DZ using rigs equipped with spring loaded pilot chute on the main. So it probably wouldn't be ideal for DZ doing IAD.