trumpetfish

On your belly vs On your head

I'm new to this sport (35 jumps) and I'm hooked. I don't have my own kit yet but plan on a purchase quite soon. (probably a jav container) my question is relating to freeflying. Is this something that should really be left until you have much more experience and Is the concensus that trying stuff on your own before any dedicated instruction on freeflying just asking for trouble (re- possible collisions with jumpers that exit before you) ?

As someone who is new to all this it certainly seems that freeflying is the fastest growing discipline within skydiving, but i also read about a lot more incidents occuring in this discipline.

So would it be better to stick too RW for my first say 100 jumps (this seems to be the pre-requisite for some freefly coaching schools) ? if anyone has started to try f-fly positions with the same experience level as me i'd love to hear about it.

thanks

new boy.

There is nothing that says you have to do RW for any length of time. Once you have your A license and have been cleared as a safe skydiver, you are free to try new forms of skydiving. Although starting a new discipline like freeflying so soon can be a distraction when you are still getting "comfortable" in the air, it can also be done safely. If you want to try freeflying this soon, I suggest getting a coach and talikng to him. Yes it costs more, but you will learn much faster and you will have someone helping you thru each step of the way. Going out on your own and just trying stuff is not the best way at the stage you are at. As far as when to start trying freeflying-
The sooner the better! Just do it right and do it safe! Don't get in over your head before you are ready. When you feel uncomfortable with something, take a step back.

Hey Chris?

Not that you're giving bad advice here, but you did notice that Mr. Trumpetfish is from the UK?