Megatron

Question for Tandem Instructors

I'm considering eventually getting a tandem rating (still quite a ways off but I'm just curious), just have a few questions about it as a profession.

Can you do it as a full-time profession? Would you want to?
If so, what does a tandem instructor typically get paid full-time? Part-time?
Do you find it fullfilling? Does it make you jaded to the sport as a recreational activity, that is, do you still enjoy fun-jumping as much?

Thanks in advance.

I'm parttime. I've been doing tandems for 16+ years, still haven't made 1000 yet. I fun jump, do AFF and tandems, and clock about 200+ jumps a year. The variety keeps me from burning out. I have a regular job 5 days a week, so the tandems and AFF just pay for my and my wife's fun jump bill. We don't try to take money home from it.

I enjoy working with students.

If you add the variety like the previous poster they you most likely wont lose your enthusiasm for the sport. But make it a 100% commitment and you more than likely will. But, it is not just tandem training that has this burnout effect. Play, train or teach any discipline 40 hours a week and there will be a burnout factor. Martial arts teachers, SCUBA trainers, you name it and do it full time then there is a burn out factor in it.

I find it helpful, with over 10,000 jumps, most commercial, that it still beats working 9-5. We work for 6 months and take home about 45K without tips in that time, doing hand cam. Work at a year round mill like Guam, Vegas, or Hawaii then you can make 80K a year but you have to accept who you are: a factory sky diver. I still like it...if you don't...do something else!

I make few recreational skydives and when I do it is usually hop n pops for swooping.