Polorutz

All around suit?

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie when it comes to skydiving so I was wondering if one of you skygods can enlighten me.

I know RW suits have booties and grippers which are not the best thing in the world to freefly in.

Budget is a bit tight atm and I was wondering if there was some sort of intermediate kind of suit, that would allow me to learn to freefly and also do some beginner's RW, so some sort of low profile grippers or something like that.

Can anyone recommend such a thing?

You don't need booties on an rw suit and it won't really hurt you having grippers on a ff suit(but you may look ridiculous). The main things on a ff suit are the cuffs around your ankles and wrists are strong enough to stay in place. So you can find a decent fitting rw suit without booties much like a student suit and modify the ankles and wrists if you need to and BAM! You have your all around suit. I'm not gonna get started about you ff at your jump numbers though as Im sure you've talked to some freeflyers at your dz on what you need to do to start ;) good luck!

Thanks for your answer!! I might just do that!

I forgot to say, I have about 3 tunnel hours and I can already backfly, I'm currently working on Backfly to sit transitions after having spent the last 40 minutes or so doing back-belly transitions.

My plan is to keep going in the tunnel till April when I go to Z-Hills for 2 weeks, then I'll be doing some solo sitfly (perpendicular to jumprun and with audibles). I'm planning on having a breakoff alt at about 5500 feet to allow me to slow down before pulling.

Once I get good enough I'll start jumping with other people.

Sounds like a Plan.