CanuckInUSA

More Bad News - I lost my job ... again ...

I've got some bad news that will effect my life.

I lost my job again. Everyone at the company I just started working at in January just got laid off today. The entire company is no more. Kaputt!!! Don't show up to work tomorrow morning, nobody works here anymore. It was a good job, so I'm bummed to see it go. Don't worry about the things you have no control over right? I might be up late tonight, so I'm thinking of sleeping in tomorrow. :|

I've been a temporary resident of the USA since 1998 working as a technology worker under a NAFTA TN-1 work visa. Now that I'm out of work, the INS says my work visa is no longer valid and I have 10 days to leave the country (no shitting you here). I'm not sure if my 10 days started today or if they will start tomorrow? But the clock is ticking. I knew these rules before I came here so I'm not surprised. I just got lucky with past job transitions. But not this time around and the INS isn't going to let me stay. So I will be leaving the country sometime within the next 10 days (I don't want to risk a permanent ban). The INS can be kind of anal if you haven't figured that out yet. Anyway, I will apply for a 6-month visitors visa and assuming I get it, it'll give me some time to settle my affairs here in the States and have a little fun as well. But I can't look for work under the visitors visa. So before the year is out, I will be back home in Canada. I'm thinking of selling my house in Calgary and moving to Vancouver as I think the jumping will be better in BC (plus I'll be close to the WA State jumping scene). So all is not lost.

Hmmm ... this sucks ... I'll have to change my screen name when I leave right?

Try not to worry about the things you have no control over

Talk to an immigration attorney. If you appeal, or apply for a change of status, the INS will probably allow you to stay while your case is being reviewed. If nothing else, it allows you to stall.