bodypilot90

who is using linux

I use Puppy Linux on a live DVD. The OS with browser, word processor, video player, etc. uses like 100 Megs of the disk so there's tons of room left to save files and stuff. You can also put Puppy on a camera flash RAM wafer thingy and carry it with you.

"Once we got to the point where twenty/something's needed a place on the corner that changed the oil in their cars we were doomed . . ."
-NickDG

I just upgraded to Fiesty Fawn a week ago from Dapper Drake. I really like it. Everything seems to run much faster and very smooth, compared to windows. When I tried running strait from the CD it was a little slow but once the partitions were all set up and the ubuntu was installed it runs very well. I have been running Ubuntu for around 6 months now and I don't think I will ever go back to windows.

Enjoy!

Matt Davies

I have 50 or so Linux servers in my network (www.skydivingmovies.com is one). Doing all sorts of things. Most are Fedora, some are Redhat ES. I've been running linux since the 0.99pl4 days (Slackware 0.9 or something) back in 1994 and Redhat since 3.0.3 days. Redhat is pretty good, and it is what I know, I haven't look at the others recently.

I've been using Debian for years, for work and for pleasure. It's an administrator's paradise, every question I've ever come across has had a solution already posted somewhere on the web if not directly in the documentation.

Although it is a little rough around the edges--I had the luxury of ramping up one of my colleagues on the Debian Way this year, and it took about a month of q&a before he became self-sufficient, tho he's a slacker and doesn't like to look things up himself. Ubuntu is based off of Debian, I'm sure you know, and does seem to polish up many of the rough spots.
My advice is to do what your parents did; get a job, sir. The bums will always lose. Do you hear me, Lebowski?