tdog

Team Avian Flew...

There is a new flock in town... See attached.

Box just came today... The suits are airing their wings, getting ready to fly...

It is like Christmas morning and Santa just came... But much better. And more grown up too.:)

Geezzzz... The box came after sundown... And I post a photo in ten minutes after opening... And you want in air photos already....

I guess that means I have to wake up and go to the DZ, huh...

The third member of Avian Flew opted to go snowboarding today because he had a free condo with beautiful woman (or so I can hope for him) in the mountains today... So there will be only two of us flying today...

But, I can see the next few months being pretty fun as we learn to dial it in as a group!

Still no in air photos... Yet...

I am a complete novice when it comes to wingsuit flying, I will admit that... I am lucky that so many experienced people are giving us coaching.... I have flown the prodigy before, but this is the first "true" wingsuit I have flown.

I got in four jumps today... Three solos and a two way flock...

I thought the day started good when my speeds were in the 70s- remembering this was the first jump on the suit and I spent most of the dive touching handles, getting used to the suit with wings collapsed, etc...

The second jump was in the low sixties.... Again, very dirty flying, but this time I was paying more attention to the lift created by the wings.

The third jump, at 10K I remember hitting the sweet spot and feeling this incredible lift... I only wish I knew what I got it down to, but my protrack thought I pulled at 10K and showed zero speed. The protrack did give me enough info to calculate that I was in the low sixties before it thought I pulled... So I estimate I entered the mid to low 50's as the change in wind noise, the sudden lift, and everything else told me I was getting major lift and slowing down a lot.