SkyChimp

I'm just getting started.....

I can positively confirm that Canon is a great brand! i have been working as a freelance photographer for the past 4 years. and have two Canon MKIIN bodies, but i will have to get a lighter body for skydiving, and i WILL get a canon.

I also have a Canon 500mm F4 IS USM telephoto lens, and have been joking about jumping with it, but that thing would probably break your neck on exit ;P

The Canon 40D should probably be a good camera! alltough the lighter 400D (Xti in the US) is probably a better option for "first timers"

The 40D weighs in at about 800 grams with the battery
The 400D weighs about 550 grams with the battery

On top of that weight you will have the weight of a lens. so in total you will have around 1 Kilo of weight on your helmet not counting the weight of the helmet itself.

I will start flying video and stills next summer, and im not going to put something on my head that might damage my neck. "better safe than sorry" i will probably borrow cameras before i purchase something of my own, to test out and to get the feel of how it is with the extra weight.

but both the 40D and 400D are excellent cameras and will be more than enough for skydiving.

The 40D is a step up in weight and price for a still camera. With a good lens on the body you are looking at 1.2+ kilos plus the switches, mounts, etc. I would only jump something like the 30D/40D/5D for special jumps instead of a regular camera. For the cost and weight you are far better off jumping a 400/450/1000D and adding an external flash to fill the photos.
Yesterday is history
And tomorrow is a mystery

Parachutemanuals.com

Don't forget to tell him about the little kodak you modify with a switch for skydiving .At least i think it is a kodak still ? It would be a good low budget if he's not wanting to worry about weight on the head .