slotperfect

Tandem Instructor Poll: I Have Had A Student . . .

None yet, but then I've only done 32. Had one girl start to throw up but I got the sick bag to her in time and turned it downwing so none went on me.

Just had another idea for a poll, is John creating Tandem polls to encourage the creation of a new forum? :-P
Skydiving Fatalities - Cease not to learn 'til thou cease to live

Since I'm a Newbie (50 or so tandems), I haven't had any of these yet......./knock on my head, whoops, I mean wood!/

However, I've seen a lot of pukers, spinners, and a few very "weak" students when they land. Sometimes being the camera man is better than being the TM.

The guy passed out on me at about 1500'. He had talked smack about all the adrenaline sports he had participated in on the way to altitude. His girlfriend and a couple of other females with them did fine. Had to ride him in pretty rough as he was approximately 6', 220 and I'm only 5'9. DZO realized he was passed out and was there to "catch" and help clean him up before the women got there.

The side spin we caught on video. Another tall guy, Thank goodness it was on my left side! As we began to accelerate I made the decision to throw, it cleared and we had a great dive after that, but believe me I became more aggressive with getting the drogue out quicker!
Blue Skies and Safe Landings!

In 450 tandems: 2 pukers (more like dry heavers, no serious chow) 2 passed out (one big guy who woke up before we landed, and one little girl I had to land passed out). One guy who started to side spin me, thankfully we were drogue side up and I tossed the drogue.

With regard to "other," I've had students try to kill me by flaring too high or by not letting me go toggles UP to surge.

Hence, I'm now leery about letting students handle landings ever, unless it's for training purpose.

Big meat missiles on hot days get to help me stall surge land, but with MUCH practice.

[:/]
Russell M. Webb D 7014
Attorney at Law
713 385 5676