patworks

two-Shot Capewells

As a parachuting teen in the new 60s I was keen on having my gear function. Like everyone, I had two-shot capewell canopy releases. Just pull down the cover, squeeze dinky two buttons together, and your canopy would release sometimes. 2-shots purpose was to allow downed air crew the option of cutting away a canopy after an emergency over windy terrain. The GSA having determined that getting dragged across Tera firma to death after surviving a bail-out was counter productive and messy, added 2-shots as a back up canopy release to the hook knife and chaff in riser pockets.
- Me, being serious about function, pounds 2-ten-penny nails in a tree limb as a coat-hook for my risers. Saddled in. I mime a mal + cut-a-way which would drop me on my ass. No release. No drop. So, an engineering sort, I polish and file the release tabs. More failures albeit smoother. Whilst one side cut away the other didn't. Counting out-loud (i'm a student) ONE-THOUSAND: TWO THOUSAND: etc. etc. I'd get to big numbers before I'd get release. On one side, if any. That concern resolved, I determined that circular 28' C9 flat canopies did not warrant a cut-away noway and proceeded down the yellow brick road to Emerald City.

Years thereafter the introduction of the PC was joined at the hip by nasty spinning Hi-G malfunctions. Then there, in those days of "Reserve Pilot-Chute Removed for Sport Parachuting" shot-and-one-half capewells functioned better than the no-cutaway boogie dance of, "PULL! PUNCH! THROW IN DIRECTION OF SPIN! SHAKE LINES: ASSIST OPENING. . . " ... hope for trees.

Having about 15 cut aways on shot+1/2 and 25 -30 more on 3-rings has reinforced my confidence that sport reserve parachutes work well. Howsomeever, methinks that the USAF still uses shot+1/2s.... this is cool cauz they got no reserve. .... do they still jump rounds? Hope not.
Pat Works nee Madden Travis Works, Jr .B1575, C1798, D1813, Star Crest Solo#1, USPA#189,