FliegendeWolf

York, Canada incident

I was about to post something in the Incidents forum, but then Sangiro's posting guidelines appeared at the top and reminded me to take it elsewhere. Thanks, HH!

I wanted to comment about the article concerning the incident in York, Canada, which Quade posted here.

The article states

Although a risky sport, serious skydiving accidents are uncommon.

While it is nice to see an article about a skydiving incident not succumb to sensationalism, I wonder if this isn't erring a bit too much on the other side. I don't think I'd claim that serious skydiving accidents are uncommon.
A One that Isn't Cold is Scarcely a One at All

I think it depends on what you call common. I've been skydiving for 3 months, probably seen hundreds of people land so far, in that short an amount of time, and not yet have I seen an injury. Now most people with any amount of experience, say a year or more, have seen an injury. Depends on your perspective, I guess.

---------------------------------------------
let my inspiration flow,
in token rhyme suggesting rhythm...

It also depends on WHERE you do your jumping.

A person at a small single Cessna dz can go a long time without seeing a serious injury. Unfortunately, at larger drop zones with a higher number of people jumping, it can be an almost weekly occurrence.

For instance -- and this is really sad to say and I don't like making awful predictions like this but I think you'll find I'm right -- I can almost say with some amount of certainty that there will be a serious life altering injury if not fatality at a very large boogie in Illinois held between the 1st and 10th of August this year.

Proffessor Trelawney isn't at work here making crazy predictions-- simply the history of the sport repeating itself.
quade -
The World's Most Boring Skydiver