kallend

Well, what do you know?

kallend

"US-led invasion of Iraq played role in rise of ISIS, ex-British leader Tony Blair says"

www.foxnews.com/world/2015/10/25/former-british-leader-tony-blair-says-iraq-war-played-role-in-rise-islamic/

I expect Turtle to say he's just disgruntled.

Some of our politicians share that opinion, me too. [:/]

dudeist skydiver # 3105

kallend

"US-led invasion of Iraq played role in rise of ISIS, ex-British leader Tony Blair says"

www.foxnews.com/world/2015/10/25/former-british-leader-tony-blair-says-iraq-war-played-role-in-rise-islamic/

I don't know that this is even debated. As a veteran myself, I would say that Tony Blair is spot on. Although the invasion hinged on the false pretense of WMD, oust the Saddam regime was absolutely the right thing to do.

I was in the invasion, and then spent the following 14 months in Baghdad. In May 2003, it was pretty much over. There were people we were looking for, but the streets were fairly quiet. We focused on re-opening schools, hospitals, banks, police and fire stations, power stations, ect.

By late June, the insurgency had started up. Al Qaeda started an Iraq faction known as AQI to fight the coalition in Iraq. By 2010, AQI had been decimated and Iraq was mostly as safe as any major U.S. city. The Iraqi government was in complete control.

My personal opinion, and wide spread criticism of the Obama Administration, is that in order to capitalize on the political move of "ending OIF" he withdrew U.S. forces too soon creating a power vacuum.

This allowed AQI to reorganize and regroup in Syria, and then they initiated the "Caliphate" and became known as ISIS. With successful and unimpeeded conquests in Syria, they spread into Iraq, taking advantage of a government that was still sorting itself out.