Orange1

Roof landings

Some thoughts arising from this thread in incidents http://www.dropzone.com/cgi-bin/forum/gforum.cgi?post=2512839;sb=post_latest_reply;so=ASC;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;;page=unread#unread

When I did FJC and we did hazardous landings, we were taught the following for landing on a roof:
- flare
- PLF
- if wind is strong enough to start dragging you, cut away your main

(I realise none of this may help if you hit hard unexpectedly, like in a turn. :|)

Was wondering if the experienced jumpers have anything to add or other things to take into consideration?
Skydiving: wasting fossil fuels just for fun.

I'm not that experienced but I do remember being told that disconnecting my RSL wouldn't be a bad idea before cutting away... just on the off chance that my main would take off with enough speed to deploy the reserve.
Owned by Remi #?

I'm not that experienced but I do remember being told that disconnecting my RSL wouldn't be a bad idea before cutting away... just on the off chance that my main would take off with enough speed to deploy the reserve.

Either the main WILL leave with enough force to pull the reserve pin or it won't leave. It will be retained by the RSL lanyard and the unpulled reserve ripcord. But, just because the reserve pin is pulled (which is all a normal RSL does, this description doesn't apply to a rig with a Skyhook) doesn't mean that the reserve will deploy. The pilot chute will launch but it has to be blown far enough with enough force to remove the bag, deploy the lines, and strip the bag. Then you would still need enough wind to inflate a packed and stacked canopy.

The point is that don't keep the fact that the reserve will open from cutting away a main dragging you into danger. The reserve won't inflate in any wind you'll be jumping in.

And in an emergency such as this you won't have time to find and release the RSL lanyard.