kelel01

What computer should I buy?

I can't even decide between laptop and desktop. HELP! I have wireless internet at my apartment, and I just need something basic. I also don't have a desk, which is why I'm torn between a regular and a lappie. Thoughts? Are Dell computers good, or is there some other PC I should look at?

Thanks!

Kelly

Depends on your price range, what you will be doing with it, and how long you want it to last. Wireless can be done either way as long as you have an access point and a wireless card in your system.

After the string of bad luck that people have been having with Dell Support, I would stay away from them.

I really like my laptop because I can work with it where I want :)Don't know if dell is good. I have a compaq and it ain't that bad, considering the thing is 3 years old and that i'm an expert in letting computers crash ;)

And a laptop would save you a desk ;)

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1057501&Sku=H24-PE387US

You would still need to spend about $150 on a wireless access point and a wireless expansion card.

OR there is something like this:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1095668&Sku=I70-2980

Or this that comes bundled with all of your wireless needs:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1135211&Sku=T24-S206B%20KIT

I just bought Derek a Gateway Laptop and so far it's been great, the price was better than I could find anywhere else for the components I wanted. I also have a gateway desktop that has been great so for me it was an easy choice.

I have an HP laptop from work and it's had to have it's harddrive replaced twice and I've only had it since June.

Sorry can't tell you about tech support, I'm able to do most my own tech support and what I don't know how to do I have tons of friends that can fill in the blanks.
Fly it like you stole it!