j3zz

Entry into the world of swooping

I am just starting to learn how to swoop my landings.

I have a few questions, my currrent approach is this,

Double fronts, to
90 degree frontriser/harness carve, back to
Double fronts,

My qustion is is this an efficient way into swooping.

My plan will be to take the 90 degree carve progressively lower until the third stage will be skipped,

At the moment I do it planty high enough that I still have to hang on the risers for a fair while,

Would I be better off just doing double front appraoches or does putting in a carve help to increase the speed which can then be maintained by a double front riser dive

Comments suggestions appreciated.

Jezz

"Now I know why the birds fly"
Hinton Skydivers

Have you worked out how much altitude you lose in this maneuver? Apparently not, or you would not be "working it down". The way to figure you final turn altitude using any degree of turn or method of inducement is to practice the move repeatedly at altitude while watching your neptune/alti. Averaging out the altitude loss of those identical setups and turns at altitude will give you a base altitude to start working with. Simply eyeballing it and throwing turns when "they feel right" is not the way to go at it, especially as someone just starting out. This topic has been covered over and over in this forum, so do a search using the keywords "90,180,270".

Chuck

When starting to use front riser input, first ensure there is no interference between riser and brake input. (That you are not putting break on while front risering) Very few spec line settings allow you to do this, and you may need your brakes lengthend a bit.

I also feel that crosswind landings should be mastered before any turn-to-swoop moves are attempted.

Why?