CanuckInUSA

Bad Ass Swoops from an amateur

Check out my amateur bad ass swoops from this weekend here, here, and let's not forget here.

In all of these swoops you'll see that I come out a little high on my front riser carves. But it's better to be high than to be low and I've got my whole skydiving career to get better at that aspect right? :)

Date: Weekend of 7-4-03 through 7-6-03
Experience: Jumps #314, #315 and #316 (318 total in 50 weeks in the sport).
Canopy: Sabre2 170 loaded at about 1.35:1 (currently over 130+ jumps on the canopy)

Comments?

Try not to worry about the things you have no control over

how did you first learn to do it? and how did you practice?

I was a pretty conservative canopy pilot for my first 100 jumps. After 100 jumps I did a lot of straight in double front riser approaches, but that was because at that time I often setup high and used the risers to ensure I wouldn't over fly my targets. At about 160 jumps I attended a very informative canopy control seminar given by Hooknswoop and while Mother Nature messed with our actual jump phases of the course, Hooks ground school session was awesome for me. From that point on, I no longer made toggle turns from base to final and instead started working on my front riser 90-180 degree carving approaches. Then about 75 or so jumps ago, another experienced canopy coach observed my landings and told me to make my approaches more subtle and less snappy (snappy can come in the future when I'm more experienced) and he also got me to add harness turns to my approaches. Hook told me about harness turns in his course, but I always assumed that my canopy was too big for the harness turn to make a difference. But I was mistaken. Finally, one of the biggest contributor to my current capabilities is my currency. I have only been in the sport for 11 1/2 months, but I jump a lot (318 jumps to date) and being in the air so much has allowed myself to build up a certain comfort level to the speeds I approach a