AirPilot

Instructor Obligation...???

Is an instructor obligated to students, or to giving only tandem rides ?

I started training at a new DZ Saturday, had to wait a few hours to get an instructor due to their tandem rides. Next day I goto the DZ, there were NO instructors available, on a Sunday!

It seems the only time instructors are available, is when they have tandem rides to give.

I realize most instructors are in skydiving to make money on tandem rides, but:

are there ANY instructors that are instructors...???

Sounds like he has to be checked out by an instructor, and they're either busy with tandems, or not there. So he's cooling his heels at the DZ without getting to do anything.

To the OP -- you can try calling to make a formal appointment with an instructor, so that they know you're coming. Or you can just ask manifest how you can go out and NOT waste your time.

BUT: as a student, the more time you spend at the dropzone, the more you'll be jumping. And, as a low-timer, you're more at the mercy of winds, so you'll spend more time sitting down. But that gets better as you get jumps.

So make yourself known in manifest; remind them periodically that you're interested in getting checked out so that you can jump at that DZ (thereby spending money).

And whether instructors are required to be there regardless of the student load is up to each DZ.

Good luck.

Wendy W.
There is nothing more dangerous than breaking a basic safety rule and getting away with it. It removes fear of the consequences and builds false confidence. (tbrown)

There are a good number of instructors that only do Tandems... Just like the converse is true as well. Many times the instructor is multi rated and/but if they are doing Tandems, I am guessing this is partly due to the way the DZ has it set up. In effect they, the instructors, are doing what they are told...