RandomLemming

Packing economy

I'm planning my trip out to SA for May this year, and I've just come across something interesting. Pack jobs at JSC appear to be R25 each and a jump there is R175.

That means 7 pack jobs pays for one jump.

The average that I've seen in the UK so far seems to be £5 per pack and £20 per jump. This means 4 pack jobs buys a jump.

What drives the packing economy? I understand that fuel and pilot costs will drive the jump ticket up, but what sets prices in the packing world ?

I mean, this cost is just great for me visiting SA because I pack quite slowly and this will give me better use of my time, but I honestly feel like I'm ripping the packer off a bit.

Heh, when I'm packing, I get it done very right. I check everything about 6 times. That's why it takes me an hour to pack... That and the fun of trying to get a pilot 188 with 35 jumps into the bag ;) I'm still new to packing, so when I'm away from home on a limited time, I pay for my pack jobs so I can make the most of my visit to the DZ.

I just feel like I'm taking the packers for a bit of a ride out in SA though, paying 1/7th of a jump per job. I would have thought that packing fees would be tied to jump costs as a percentage, rather than fixed at a price.

here in Switz, the average packing is CHF 7 (5.60 USD) and the average jump ticket is CHF 42 (34 USD) , so 6 packjobs per ticket.

People don't give much work to packers here. And also packers are quite rare.
scissors beat paper, paper beat rock, rock beat wingsuit - KarlM

I check everything about 6 times.

No surprise that you are slow. B|

That and the fun of trying to get a pilot 188 with 35 jumps into the bag ;)

Don't stress, do it like [ url "http://spidernest.ath.cx/gallery/packing2006" ]this[/url].

I'm still new to packing, so when I'm away from home on a limited time, I pay for my pack jobs so I can make the most of my visit to the DZ.

You may practice packing at home for free. ;)