Orange1

Speed star records

I watched "Cutaway" the other night (ok, i'm still quite new at this :$) .. and it got me wondering... do people really sit in the door while their rigs at the other side of the plane?

More seriously ;), what I was wondering is: what is the record for an 8-way speed star? and what is the largest speed star done to date, and the time? (I did a search here but couldn't seem to find it.) Any other speed star trivia welcome!
Skydiving: wasting fossil fuels just for fun.

I was on Jim Hooper's Ten High team in 1974. We took 4th place in the annual Turkey meet (of 105 teams) with average times in the high 13's. I believe the winning team from Deland had average times in the low 12's.

-----------------------
Roger "Ramjet" Clark
FB# 271, SCR 3245, SCS 1519

The GKs did a 10-way star from a current USPA legal all behind the diagonal line no-show exit in 11.52sec this year at Nationals.

Majik Knights did it in 9.38sec in 2004

SDC-STL did it in 8.80sec in 2002

Here is a video of a 12 second star from a no-show exit.

The only sure way to survive a canopy collision is not to have one.

When 10 ways were done out of DC3s we were allowed to hold on for exit. We were able to pull an entire 10 way out the door and make it round within 5 seconds. It was a five way round with a tail that whipped around to dock in between numbers 1 and 5 while a steering hanger climbed onto grips from underneath. I have been on sub 4 second 10 ways but we didn't do any in competition. I was on the team "Barely Legal" in 1986 that won the Nat's. The videos were awesome. It is more of an acrobatic feat than flying. The exit took less than 1.6 seconds from the first show of a body part to the last part exiting the a/c. Any slower and somebody was going to get hurt. Our best exits were in less than 1.4 seconds with the star completed under 4 sec. It rates as one of the biggest and best thrills of my life.