ryan_d_sucks

Winter Closings and AFF

Hey--

I did my first jump as a tandem in August. I have really really been wanting to start an AFF program, but it has recently dawned on me that I might be about to run into a problem.. I have no money.

I'm a broke-ass college student. I am getting a job, but it only pays $7.25/hour and I can't work many hours a week. So, its going to take me a while to save up the initial $300 to pay for AFF level 1. However, I just realized that once the weather gets cold some (if not all) dropzones around me (in Bloomington, IN) will close. I have only been able to get in touch with a few dropzones around here, and they said that they will close for the winter. I don't see myself having enough money for AFF 1 until early november-- which by what some of the people at the dropzones said is just before they close for the winter (second week of november they close). Would it be worth it for me to save up the initial 300, do AFF 1, and then take a break until spring comes and the DZ re-opens? Is it probable that I would I forget what I learned over the break and be out-of-practice? Or, does anyone know of DZ's that stay open year-round in the mid-west?

Thanks,

Ryan

My advise would be to save up as much money as you can all winter so you can just do you AFF flat out in the spring. That way you don't have to worry about running out of money and then retaking levels because you fall out of the current status.

Thats what i'm doing anyway
As a general rule, the better it felt when you said it, the more trouble it's going to get you into.