angrypeppers

Student stories

Do you like reading student stories? I've been writing up my AFF jumps and posting them here (though I skipped posting the Level 3 and 4 stories for now). I like writing/reading them for a couple of reasons:
1. Writing them up helps me remember the jumps better.
2. Some day when I'm old and jaded, I can re-read my stories and maybe get some of the old skydiving mojo back.
3. I like reading other students stories, so hopefully someone will like mine.

Vote and discuss...

Chris
Burn the land and boil the sea,
You can't take the sky from me.

***Do you like reading student stories? ***

I enjoy reading them because it wasn't such a long time ago that I was a student. AFF wasn't something that came natural to me - I had to redo 3 jumps so if students post about struggling with something or having door fear or anything like that, I can totally identify with that.
When I did AFF I seemed to think that someday I would reach a stage where I thought I "knew enough" ... but it seems that the more jumps I do, the less I feel I know and the more there is to learn. Also, you can learn things from all kinds of skydivers, regardless of experience levels. If you jump with a novice, you can learn things about your own abilities that you wouldn't with more experienced jumpers.

So what I'm saying is: post your stories! I enjoy reading them. :)

-Chanti-

I like to help students progress but dont really enjoy reading students stories. We have all been there done that got the t-shirt.
To me student stories are like old drug stories, everyone has them and thinks theirs are better and it is just boring.

Saying that though, each person on this world is different. You may be a person who likes to write about your stories, i might be a person who will not read them, but there are people out there who will read them and enjoy reading them. To me things we do in life, it does not matter what other people think, you do what you enjoy.