tombuch

ASF Report: When Airplanes and Skydivers Collide

AOPA offered a mention of a recent Air Safety Foundation (ASF) report with a newsbrief this morning in their e-news pilot newsletter. The brief ASF report entitled When Airplanes and Skydivers Collide is available at http://www.aopa.org/asf/epilot_acc/mia05la096.html?WT.mc_id=090306epilot&WT.mc_sect=sap

Unfortunately the report misses the mark, and fails to mention the lack of drop zone depiction in digital flight planners and on GPS screens. This is an issue that I have been addressing with USPA for more than five years. Sadly, it has been bogged down in administrative inaction at the federal level. USPA is doing all they can on our behalf and there is some hope that a marginal solution will emerge this year, but full implementation is still many years away. In the meantime, jumpers should exercise extreme caution while spotting, and should be hyper-alert to transient aircraft.

I have responded to the ASF and AOPA about the problem, and have listed my response below. For more information about the issue, see a couple of resources listed here:

When I was S&TA I wrote two articles of special interest that appear on The Ranch web site as “Article 1-Checking for Traffic” and “Article 8-Airspace” both are available at http://theblueskyranch.com/STA.php

I have provided a few updates to the status of depiction here on Dropzone.com. You can find a discussion thread from 2005 at http://www.dropzone.com/cgi-bin/forum/gforum.cgi?post=1882590;#1882590

Email from Tom Buchanan to ASF and AOPA
Thanks for releasing the ASF Accident Analysis entitled “Terminal Velocity: When Airplanes and Skydivers Collide,” mentioned in the AOPA e-news letter this morning.