Austin

When did you start looking for a first rig?

I'm stil doing my student training through the IAD method, but was wondering when do most people start looking for/considering buying their own rigs?? and are there any containers that are particularly "friendly" to people just off of student status?
Austin

I'm new to the sport but got a good deal on a used vector II container with the appropriate sized canopies at my dropzone so I went for it. I only had 15 jumps when I got it, but I wanted to be able to build that familiarity that comes from using your own gear versus rentals.

I started looking as soon as I got finished AFF. Demoed a bunch of canopies, rigs, etc. Didn't actually buy and have my own until about 45 jumps though. Gear is expensive (obviously) so it's important to be happy with what you get, and to have something you will potentially be able to use for a while. Just my 2 cents. =c)
Stacy
http://astro.temple.edu/~sweeks

i got my rig after my 22nd jump but then again i had been jumping for a year and a half before i got my gear......best thing you can ever do too....it's so much easier to jump your own stuff and get used to it then keep switching main sizes and stuff.......you can normally find a pretty good deal on used stuff! i got my first rig for $600 here at dz.com on the clasifieds and just got a new main and container for $500 in the clasifieds too....just be sure you know what you are getting!!!!

"if dreams are like movies, then memories are like films about ghosts"-counting crows

As soon as I got off student status I was trying to jump as many diff rigs I could get my hands on. Then My DZO brought in a new Talon2 container with a new reserve and put a main w/ 150 jumps on it in the rig and said try this. Loved it...and on jump 17 bought it!!!!. I know that seems kinda fast to be buying a rig but I got a great deal on it and counldnt pass it up. Plus the thing fits like a glove to me!!
jason