Ragnarok

PRK Laser eye surgery - - - I can SEE!!!

A big two thumbs up for this procedure! Outside of the day or two of intense discomfort, which Percocet worked well, I am amazed. It is like I am seeing everything for the first time. All the colors and everything is just so clear!

I am grounded for 30 days, not too big of a deal, I can still hang out at the DZ and buy beer. Another jumper with a coach rating is going to hook me up with a currency dive, so it is all good.

Oh, I broke up with my girlfriend - but it is ok - she was psycho.

If anyone is thinking about getting this done, I will be happy to share my experience.

just wondering:

why don't they let you skydive for a month after getting lasik eye surgery?

Just a guess, but think about what the wind at freefall speeds does to your jumpsuit and skin. Now imagine losing your goggles while the front of your eyeball is essentially just a loose flap.

Blues,
Dave
"I AM A PROFESSIONAL EXTREME ATHLETE!"
(drink Mountain Dew)

In lasik, there is a flap. It needs to heal - though it never fully heals - and it may get loose. THis is a rare problem. In PRK, there is no flap, and the surface of your eye needs to heal. I may be able to jump in another couple weeks if all goes well.

Is is just your eyesight, afterall............B|

I've been thinking about getting PRK for well over a year now, so I can shift careers from a desk job to something.. more interesting. I've read a fair bit on the web, but a first hand account is always more interesting.

Where did you get it done? How much did you pay? How long did the consultation and procedure take? What made you choose PRK over LASEK and LASIK?

A License
USPA A-license holders who have not made a freefall skydive within--