Groundbound

Student packing

I do not see any difference in the regs over who can pack a *student* main canopy.

If no difference, then I will (legally) be able to pack my own, as a student?(!) [part a) says the person making the next jump can pack it]

I realize to actually do so may be stupid (especially if I've never done it before).

So I was wondering what usually happens, who packs dz-owned student chutes?

Thanks

The FAR reads something to the effect that the main parachute can only be packed by the person who is going to jump it, a rigger, or someone under the supervision of a rigger which is usually the packer.
Sky, Muff Bro, Rodriguez Bro, and
Bastion of Purity and Innocence!™

who packs dz-owned student chutes?

Depending on what DZ your jumping at, it may be packed by someone that has never even made a skydive before!
Or it can be packed by you, a rigger or someone being supervised by a rigger.
You don't have to know how to skydive just to pack a parachute, and for that matter, you can be a rigger without ever making a skydive.
It's fairly simple, and many kids that grow up on the DZ's pack hundreds of parachutes even before they ever get to make a skydive! ;)

Be safe.
Ed
www.WestCoastWingsuits.com
www.PrecisionSkydiving.com

Not sure what the MOPs actually are here except that until we get a packing licence we pack under supervision, but I was told that when I start "of course you won't be packing student parachutes"...
Skydiving: wasting fossil fuels just for fun.

Maybe just a rule on our DZ then. They seem to have more than other places :)I am a bit confused though cos if i can't pack student chutes and all the experienced jumpers pack their own, not sure what i'll be packing :S
Skydiving: wasting fossil fuels just for fun.