adventurechick

Thinking about BASE

Lately, everytime I see a tall building or bridge, I think to myself... "I wonder what it would be like to jump that... and how/where would I land."

I'm still pretty new to skydiving with only 87 jumps... but am considering BASE jumping. How many jumps do you suggest one to have before they start BASE and is there anything I can be doing in skydiving now to prepare me for future BASE jumps?

Finally, is there a BASE class offered anywhere for your first BASE jump?

PMS #449 TPM #80 Muff Brother #3860
SCR #14705 Dirty Sanchez #233

My only advice is to stay in skydiving alot longer and enjoy it, within this time you will have some scares, see some scrapes and injuries and will loose some friends, once you get used to that environment in skydiving, then re-assess your want to get into BASE, as you will see it more, and then at least you will be partially prepared...

please dont rush into BASE, Its a horrible sport and not as nice as it looks on video and not as romantic as it seems in the passion of newly introduced to skydiving....

I started BASE with 500 skydives with over 150 focused on getting into BASE, and I still was not prepared for the mayhem I got into.... Please dont rush into it...

http://hometown.aol.com/base194/myhomepage/base_fatality_list

How many jumps do you suggest one to have before they start BASE and is there anything I can be doing in skydiving now to prepare me for future BASE jumps?

Several hundred more. Try to do as much CRW and Accuracy as you can. Sport accuracy is probably more applicable than classic accuracy--if you use a classic accuracy style canopy (which is quite similar to a BASE canopy). Consider switching to a large 7 cell canopy for your skydives (Ravens can be found fairly cheap for this sort of thing).

Finally, is there a BASE class offered anywhere for your first BASE jump?