DSE

Cutaway systems

Curious for a couple reasons; obviously the thread we see below, and additionally, a local person just getting into camera bought a helmet with no cutaway, and when I asked him about it, he felt "very confident he'll never need one."

I have peace of mind having one, but wonder how many people have actually tested the cutaway systems they have, and how many even have a cutaway system on their helmets.
If you do not have one, would you mind elaborating on either why you don't, or how you feel about not having one?

When i bought my helmet it was beofre the company had developed their cut away system.
I believe the chances of an entanglement are very slim and have not bothered retrofitting one.
Having said that i do not jump camera for a living so dont do alot of jumps per year
You are not now, nor will you ever be, good enough to not die in this sport (Sparky)
My Life ROCKS!
How's yours doing?

Ofcourse I have a cut away on my cam helmet. In fact this is required on camerahelmets in Sweden.

Tested it on the ground for the same reason I yank out my reserve when I have it repacked, to get an idea of the ammount of force needed to cut it free.

A cut away system on my helmet is for me as having a reserve parachute.
I don't want to use it but when it saves my life then I'm f**ing grateful!!
“The sum of intelligence on the planet is a constant; the population is growing.” - George Bernard Shaw
He who dies with the most toys, wins.....
dudeist skydiver # 19515
Buy quality and cry once!

I have tried cutaway on ground on my tonfly evo pro (early model, sidemount).
- I tried a scenario where something was stuck on camera box. Cutaway handle is on the opposite side of the box. When my friend pulled hard up on the camera box, my head was tilted right and the cutaway handle was pinned down to my neck making it very hard to get my fingers in it and cutaway (not impossible though, just hard).