jfields

Stalls (& Line Trim?)

Here is a newbie-ish canopy control topic I'm currently dealing with...
I'm continuing to learn about my canopy and its flight characteristics. I'm a novice (58 jumps) flying a Sabre 190 at 1.1:1.
I'm trying to explore the speed range of my canopy. From full flight, I very gradually pulled the toggles down. I noticed the loss of windspeed and increasing "mushiness" of the canopy. I continued pulling the toggles down until my arms were extended all the way down at my sides. I was expecting a stall, but it didn't happen.
When I landed, I was talking to an instructor, who suggested I take the toggles and loop them around my hands once then try the stall again. I was wondering if having to do this is an indication of a line trim problem.
Also, since I haven't been successful at it yet, could someone describe what exactly occurs when you do stall the canopy? I know to let up very gently, but I don't know quite what to expect during the stall. Will the canopy fold in the middle, or collapse some other way, or what? If you continue holding the toggles down, will the canopy progress into something looking like a streamer?
To reassure those wondering about it, I've been doing all of my intentional drastic canopy maneuvers (incl. stalls) between about 7000 and 14000 feet. So far, I've done three 3-second delays from altitude. They are a lot of fun and I feel safe getting crazy with my canopy at that altitude.
Thoughts? Suggestions?
Justin
My Homepage

I was playing around with brake settings on my Safire a while back and I needed to stall the canopy completely to figure a few things out.