spud

AFF Instructors - Jumpsuit Preferences?

I have been doing tandems for the last 6 years, looking at doing AFF rating soon, just wondering what jumpsuit would be best. I am 6'2 and only weigh 176 pounds with gear on. I have no problem going slow. Any comments help.

Blue Skies

just curious, do AFF I wear different jumpsuite to match each student or they match their fall rate to that of the student. At our DZ AFFI all I see is the instructors wear the same no matter what the student is built like.

You will need a minimum of three jumpsuits: slow, medium and fast falling.
Wear whichever suit most closely matches the fall rate of each student.

I beg to differ. I have 1900+ AFF dives and the last 400 odd have been in a pair of Birdman Pantz and a Go Fast long sleeve T.

My students have ranged from 44kg (97lb) to 100kg (220lb) and my speed range on my belly from the high 90's to the mid 140's measured on my Neptune. I'm 77kg (170 lbs) and 1.79m (About 5'11")

t
It's the year of the Pig.

You will need a minimum of three jumpsuits: slow, medium and fast falling.
Wear whichever suit most closely matches the fall rate of each student.

I beg to differ. I have 1900+ AFF dives and the last 400 odd have been in a pair of Birdman Pantz and a Go Fast long sleeve T.

My students have ranged from 44kg (97lb) to 100kg (220lb) and my speed range on my belly from the high 90's to the mid 140's measured on my Neptune. I'm 77kg (170 lbs) and 1.79m (About 5'11")

t

Which implies the "Dress For Success" idea varies from instructor to instructor factoring in that instructors experience level. I have seen quite a few instructors in freefly pants and a tee-shirt before they were ready, a time or two; I have seen video where that lack of preparation resulted in an instructor not being able to catch their spinning student, or maybe they just were not interested in dressing for success so they could get some freefly time in with their buddy after the student deployment.