kram88

Tandem skydive vs. solo?

Hello guys, im new to skydiving. I've only jumped once but ever since I have jumped I am in love and hope one day to get my A license so i can jump solo and start jumping more frequently. Just a question though; I read on here someone say tandem is more dangerous than solo??? Why is that? I am going tandem again next monday. Also one of my buddies was saying that the teacher will cut you loose if something happens and you will die instead of him? Lol? I don't think that's right. Anyways. Im a noob... Im trying to do as much research as I can and learn more about the sport. Sorry if i come off like i dont know what im talking about because i prolly dont compared to most of you.. Anyways, Thx!

kram88

Hello guys, im new to skydiving. I've only jumped once but ever since I have jumped I am in love and hope one day to get my A license so i can jump solo and start jumping more frequently. Just a question though; I read on here someone say tandem is more dangerous than solo??? Why is that? I am going tandem again next monday and I just read an article about a student and teacher that died due to mal in Mississippi? They didn't even say if they attempted to pop reserve or not? Hm.. Also one of my buddies was saying that the teacher will cut you loose if something happens and you will die instead of him? Lol? I don't think that's right. Anyways. Im a noob... Im trying to do as much research as I can and learn more about the sport. Sorry if i come off like i dont know what im talking about because i prolly dont compared to most of you.. Anyways, Thx!

Regardless of whether tandems are more dangerous or not, would you really want to spend $200ish dollars per jump to be a sack of potatoes? Go do the first jump course and go from there :) If you think the risk is too high then you can always walk away.