tombuch

Skydiver Running for Vermont State Representative

Hey Folks:

I’ve recently announced that I’m running to serve as a State Representative in Vermont, and wanted to slip into this forum and introduce my campaign, and seek the support of the broader skydiving community.

Many of you probably already know me, or at least know my writing from the Skydiving Forums (General, Safety and Training, Gear, Instructors, Incidents). I’ve been jumping for more than 25 years, have been rated as an instructor in every discipline recognized by USPA, and served as the Safety and Training Advisor at The Ranch for six years. These days I tend to jump at Vermont Skydiving Adventures…it’s a small and friendly Cessna drop zone, and one of just two DZ’s in the state of Vermont. I’ve made fifty BASE jumps and served as an organizer of the Bridge Day event from about 1985-1993, made wing suit jumps, camera jumps, and done some skysurfing. I’ve lived in New York, Connecticut, and Vermont, and traveled through all fifty states, and have jumped in many of them.

As a skydiver, BASE jumper, and S&TA I’ve focused on allowing experienced skydivers personal freedom, while demanding that drop zones provide quality training and supervision to students and inexperienced jumpers until they can provide informed consent and make their own decisions. That’s a pretty good reflection of my approach to politics. That is, I think we have community interests and personal freedoms that need to be carefully balanced.

I’m running as a moderate Democrat against a five term (10 year) Republican incumbent. This rural district includes five towns (Londonderry, Jamaica, Weston, Winhall, Stratton), touches on three counties (Windham, Windsor, Bennington), and covers more than 200 square miles. It’ll be a tough campaign.