Kramer

How Incredible Is Techno Music?

I'm sorry, but I just can't get enough of this stuff. I only recently started getting into it. I wish I had appreciated how good some of it is many years ago.

Anyone got any rec's they can give me? I am very new to this whole genre. I just downloaded the "Top 100 Techno Songs of 2004". Most of them are pretty badass. I'm really digging Laza's "Stepping Out" right now. The lyrics seem to fit with stepping out of an airplane. B|

The FAKE KRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMER!!!!!!!!!

Go back to the old classics:
Paul Oakenfold
Pete Tong
Paul Van Dyke
Timo Maas
All the "Essential" selections...

These I consider the "old" basics...

;)

"For once you have tasted Absinthe you will walk the earth with your eyes turned towards the gutter, for there you have been and there you will long to return."

Can you give me any specific song titles?

I'd usually stick with full albums. They're usually one continuous mix. There's always the occasional hit like "Bullet in the gun" (Oakenfold), or "Around the world" by Daft Punk. But I recommend listening to full albums (especially Trance ones...).
Once again, "Essential Selection" (Essential is a club in Manchester) has some good stuff from the '90's, in many different albums.
Also, some of the Norman Cook (AKA Fat Boy Slim) have some pretty good stuff (and FBS has had his share of hits!).
I'll PM you some album titles.

"For once you have tasted Absinthe you will walk the earth with your eyes turned towards the gutter, for there you have been and there you will long to return."

something like DUB!!

Brilliant choice. But quite different from Techno.

First there was techno then there was DUB.

First there was DUB ('70's in Jamaica), then there was techno, then there was NZ DUBS (and you know how I feel about it...;))

"Born Sleepy" is a great tune, which has pretty much been remixed by every DJ around.
Underworld has indeed produced some great albums.