jclalor

DZ first aid kits and IV's

I was reading in the safety section that it's recommended to have an IV starter kit along with fluids in the first aid kit.
As a nurse I was wondering about the legalitys of starting an IV without an order.
I mean if it was a very apparent life or death situation I would have no problem.
Does anyone know the legal stuff on this?

As an EMT, I know that nearly everyone that goes for a ride with us (unless it is just a pure BS call, I have a paper cut, need to go to the ER person) they get an IV. If the situation warrants it, it would only be a time saver, in my opinion... granted there was someone on scene who knew how to start a line....

I was reading in the safety section that it's recommended to have an IV starter kit along with fluids in the first aid kit.
As a nurse I was wondering about the legalitys of starting an IV without an order.
I mean if it was a very apparent life or death situation I would have no problem.
Does anyone know the legal stuff on this?

As a former EMT and Safety and Training Adviser I agree with your concern. An IV should only be started with an order from a physician, by a person who is trained to do so, and performing under a QI program. If a drop zone has a physician who frequents the DZ then it might be reasonable to have the equipment he needs available, but I'd rather see him/her take charge of that and not leave IV's and other medical equipment around. The exception would be if an agreement has been reached with the local rescue squad/company, and they would like to have the equipment staged on site for first responders who arrive before the rig.