MJH

Rig for novice

I'm a novice who is 5'10", 180 lbs. and is looking at gear. My tentative plan is to buy a Sabre 2 main canopy at 190 sq. ft. and A Doplhin D-3 (large) container/harness. I lean toward the Sabre2 because, from what I've gathered, it's a tame, reliable canopy. The Doplhin appeals to me because it looks uncomplicated (I've yet to pack a canopy) and reliable. I figure that when I'm ready for a smaller main in 500 or 600 jumps, I'll still be able to use the Dolphin. I don't intend to buy an AAD b/c my DZ doesn't require them and I fear the AAD accidentally deploying my reserve more than I fear my inability to deploy my reserve.

All that said, I respect my ignorance and would appreciate advice about some or all of these decisions. Thanks!

The Dolphin isn't a bad container, but you might want to sit down with your former instructors and chat about gear choices. I'm more then sure they'll be willing to help you out! :)
--"When I die, may I be surrounded by scattered chrome and burning gasoline."

I don't intend to buy an AAD b/c my DZ doesn't require them and I fear the AAD accidentally deploying my reserve more than I fear my inability to deploy my reserve.

You just never know when you're gonna get knocked out in freefall. This has been argued time and again, so do a search. I went without a cypres for over 100 jumps before I bought one, mostly because my boyfriend wanted me to have one, but i'm glad I got it!

I don't think the Dolphin is freefly friendly(?), so if you plan on freeflying, you might want to re-think that choice. A container can last you a very long time, so get one that fits well and will be versitile enough to serve you whatever discipline you choose. I plan to have my container for another 400 jumps at least.

Angela.